After identifying conflicts between your campaigns, you can start prioritizing them, that is to say applying a priority order to your campaigns.
The prioritization screen displays two columns:
- No priority applied section (left column)
- Priority levels section (right column)
Prioritized campaigns are displayed on the right column, in various prioritization level sections. They are split between prioritization levels and constitute the prioritization rule. For more information on these concepts, please refer to Prioritizing personalization campaigns.
If a visitor matches the targeting of several prioritized campaigns on a specific page of the website, they will only see the one(s) with the highest priority.
To make your changes visible in production, you must publish them by clicking the Save and apply button.
To prioritize a campaign, drag and drop it from the left column to the desired priority level.
The no priority applied section (left column) displays the campaigns that have no priority level. That is to say that they will be displayed according to their configured targeting conditions (segment, page, trigger).
By default, personalization campaigns are not prioritized.
The priority section (right column) displays campaigns to which a priority has been applied.
There is a maximum of 10 priorities: 1 is the highest and 10 the lowest.
On a same page, visitors matching the targeting of several prioritized campaigns will only see the one(s) with the highest priority.
The first 2 levels are mandatory (priority 1 and 2). For example, if you place one or more campaigns in priority 1, you must have at least one campaign in priority 2. Other priority levels can be empty.
You can place several campaigns within the same priority level (12 campaigns maximum per priority level). This means that they will be displayed to all visitors matching the targeting of these campaigns. However, we recommend placing campaigns that target the same page(s) in different priorities.
⭐ Good to know
You can prepare your prioritization rule and prioritize your paused campaigns before launching them (or scheduling them).
The prioritization rule does not take paused campaigns into account.
Publishing the prioritization rule
Once you have placed your campaigns in different priority levels, you can save the prioritization rule by clicking the Save and apply button.
The tag is updated automatically and your changes are deployed in production.
If you leave without saving, the prioritization rule won’t be saved and won’t be applied to your website.
Generally speaking your prioritization rule must be updated (click the Save and apply button) in the following cases:
- when you move one or more campaigns from the non-prioritized column (left) to the priority column (right);
- when you move one or more campaigns to another priority level;
- when you move one or more campaigns from the priority column (right) to the non-prioritized column (left);
- before you change the timeframe, because your changes will not be kept if you return to the original timeframe;
- before you apply filters (filter by campaign or filter by segment and saved Page), because your changes will not be kept when you return to the original view.
Deactivating the prioritization rule
To deactivate the prioritization rule, you can either move all your prioritized campaigns back to the left column (that is to say remove them from the priority column) or pause all your prioritized campaigns. To make these changes active, click Save and apply.
Need additional information?
Submit your request at email@example.com
Always happy to help!